NIGHT

And when the day ends

And the night creeps in,

The darkness reminds me

Of you.

Of how you spoke to the stars,

Or how you danced in the rain,

How you embraced the unknown,

And traced your own way.

You were beautiful and unique

And a sight to behold,

You were different and unfamiliar

And too away from us all,

And maybe that’s why,

We never worked.

Maybe that’s why I felt

Like everything was my fault,

Like you could do no wrong.

But you could, and you did.

And forgiveness sparkled in my eyes,

But I chose to blink it away,

Just like you blinked me away,

In a heartbeat.

*******************************

 

Leave a Reply

