DAY

Waking up to a breaking point,

The coffee tasted unusually bitter.

Something in the air seemed wrong.

Looking in the mirror,

The reflection seems to take over the real,

“Put on a brave smile and move on”, it says,

And I listen.

Go about the daily chores-

Denial, aggression, escapism,

And the evening appointment for loneliness,

Until finally, exhaustion takes over,

Leaving me lying on the unmade bed.

But then you enter my thoughts, as always,

You smile with your deep brown eyes,

Pull the covers up to my ears,

Tuck me in and wish me goodnight.

“Dream happy”, you say,

And I listen,

And that’s the only reason I smile.

Leave a Reply

