HIDE

I see it there. I see it veiled by polite conversations. I see it in the tears you rubbed away. I see it in the words you left unsaid. It’s in your discomfort, it’s in your racing heartbeats. I see it in the way you ball up your fists and hold yourself back. I see it in the way you look away when we’re talking. It’s hidden deep in the layers of your soul. It’s lying in your nightmares and your dreams. I see that madness. That red hot madness that you think will ruin you. I see the way you stop it from screaming out loud. I see the way you camouflage it with humour. There’s another side to you that no one knows. You think you can subdue that monster with gentle handshakes, Wednesday brunches and forced laughter. But I wish you knew that it’s not a monster at all. It’s just a tiny naked soul, shivering with vulnerability, sadness and a loneliness unique to you. It’s just a helpless child forced to be recognized as inhumane and monstrous. It is just a part of you.

Leave a Reply

