YOURS AND MINE

These days when I look at you,

I feel the strong urge to

Tear down the walls you’ve built,

With my bare hands claw through your guilt.

And pull out your naked soul,

Leaving in you a gaping hole,

I want to stare at it in its true beauty,

Your soul, in its rare purity.

God knows why you hide this part of you,

Why you fight and stop yourself from pushing through.

I’m too enraptured by the way it glows,

Too enthralled by the lure of things it knows.

But in the blue of your eyes I see

The helpless tears, a hopeless plea,

I realize then that your soul is your possession,

I couldn’t have it, not for all my affection,

That’s a fact that no one changes,

We were not made for soul-exchanges.

 

 

Leave a Reply

