DECIPHERING WALTY- II

“Sometimes with one I love I fill myself with rage for fear I effuse unreturn’d love,

But now I think there is no unreturn’d love, the pay is certain one way or another,

(I loved a certain person ardently and my love was not return’d ,

Yet out of that I have written these songs.)”

Something about Walty’s poems makes me feel like he is actually speaking to me. I feel he is trying to tell me (or any of his readers for that matter) things. He is trying to teach me from his experiences. Sometimes With One I Love is one such poem that makes me believe Walty is standing in front of me and explaining something to me.

This poem is not very difficult to understand as such. In one reading, you can probably get a general idea about what he is trying to convey. It seems simple, not something special (many of Walty’s poems seem that way). But his ideas fascinate me. What he says is so true.

Walty basically says that sometimes he is overcome with fear disguised as rage that he loves with all his passion in return for nothing. He describes his love as unreturned. But then he realizes that no love is ever unreturned. One always gets something in return. He then explains that he once loved someone and that someone did not love him back, but from the pain that he experienced, he has been able to write these poems.

Walty conveys the simple and common. But the truth is the simple and common is hardly ever spoken about. We more often than not focus on the extraordinary. The truth is you may love someone with all the passion you have and the person may not return your love. But that does in no way mean that you haven’t received or gained anything in return for the furious love you have given. The pain, the hurt that you experience..all makes you in some way. It gives you a strength that you cannot get elsewhere. And you use that pain and hurt in some way or the other. Walty uses it (maybe subconsciously) to write his poems. You may use it to paint or create music, or write, or run or anything under the sun.  So never, never   is love is unreturned. It is always returned in some way which will help you.

Leave a Reply

