THE ROAD THAT WAS TAKEN. (A continuation to ‘The Road Not Taken’)

‘Two roads diverged in a wood, and I

I took the one less travelled by,

And that has made all the difference.’

-Robert Frost. The Road Not Taken.

And so I walked down the road

The road that I chose

As I walked on, I hoped I wouldn’t regret

This rather unusual decision of mine.

I was alone on that road

So alone that I could hear myself breathing

I could hear my footsteps

I could even hear my thoughts.

But I pushed everything aside

And walked on in my brown boots

Until I reached a certain point

Where I stood still at stared at my feet.

Just a while ago

These feet in brown boots

Stood at a point just like this one

Where two roads diverged in a yellow wood.

These boots had brought me here

And the journey had been good

There was the bright, beautiful summer

And the cold, harsh winter.

There were the pretty flowers

And the sharp, vicious thorns.

So now as I sigh

Ages and ages later

I smile

As I think about the time

When I stood at a point

Where two roads diverged in a yellow wood

And my brown boots

Steered me towards the one less travelled by.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/24/daily-prompt-walk/

8 thoughts on “THE ROAD THAT WAS TAKEN. (A continuation to ‘The Road Not Taken’)

Leave a Reply

